Posted by: Arkay | March 26, 2008

Why Bother?


In regards to some recent posts by those on my blogroll, I wish to convey my little bit that way too. Last week I put out a solicitation (read: begging) for a seat at an Easter dinner somewhere (Thanks Brianna, the meal was great and I had a wonderful time with everyone). Part of the reason for this ‘desperation’ was given as my place being unfit for human habitation thus I would not be putting on a dinner of my own (as I am usually wont to do). It really isn’t that bad, I’ve just got a little behind on a few things.

Unfortunately, getting a bit behind, if you suffer from depression, is a lot further behind than regular folks. Once you are ‘behind’ on one or two things around the home, it becomes tougher and tougher to not only NOT get ahead, but to even just keep up with what you have been doing so far. For example: I got a couple of days behind on the dishes, and it’s now been two weeks and I still haven’t done all of them (they aren’t piling up, but there’s still two days worth on the counter). That led to not doing a load of laundry (I am now two loads behind, and thus it’s piled beside the hamper). Seeing that everyday has put me back such that the paper recycling that was to go out just keeps getting added to. After I was to have put out the recycling I was going to clear off the dining room table (still not de-cluttered). And on it goes.

It would probably ‘only’ take half a day to get my place back in shape, if it were only that easy. Some of the effects of depression on chores are: lack of energy, lack of motivation, excess procrastination and, most difficult, a real sense of being overwhelmed by the amount of tasks to be done. I can tell you, from personal experience, that living alone compounds this problem tenfold. Why? Because the big question that keeps popping up, especially if you have no one else there to do things for, is:

                Why bother?

Responses

  1. When it got really bad for me a few years back I’d forgo everything, including personal hygiene. Sometimes I’d manage to get in the tub only to give up pre-soap and return to the bed soaking wet.

    I just cleaned up my room for the first time in months. I frequently tell people there’s two year old bird shit on my car. All too true.

    Little steps.

  2. It is amazing how the small things pile up and then look like mountains. I’m an out of sight, out of mind person….you should see my closets, and attic,…and garage…..and truck cab…..
    Peace,

  3. I think maybe we should take the money we spend on antidepressants and therapy and just hire a housecleaner.

    I’m not kididng.

    Do you think we could get insurance to cover that?

  4. I have no idea, but I sure like the way you think! 🙂


Leave a Reply

Categories

