Posted by: Arkay | March 31, 2008

Follow up.

The following is a pessimistic idealist follow up to my previous post. The lyrics are by Ed McCurdy and sung by Serena Ryder on her album “If Your Memory Serves You Well”. Ideally, this IS possible and would be incredible beyond belief; pessimistically, it will never happen.

Last night I had the strangest dream
I’d ever dreamed before
I dreamed the world had all agreed
To put an end to war

I dreamed I saw a mighty room
Filled with women and men
And the paper they were signing said
They’d never fight again

And when the paper was all signed
And a million copies made
They all joined hands and bowed their heads
And grateful pray’rs were prayed

And the people in the streets below
Were dancing ’round and ’round
While swords and guns and uniforms
Were scattered on the ground

Last night I had the strangest dream
I’d never dreamed before
I dreamed the world had all agreed
To put…an end…to war.

Responses

  1. I’m a big music fan (couldn’t you tell by my name) and lyrics are key. Now I’ll have to look this up, lyrically it sounds beautiful. Even in my funk mood mode that is consuming me now, I believe this is possible. It’s just the closet hippy in me.
    Peace,

  2. Figured you’d like this one misterbooks If you get a chance to listen to her whole album, it’s pretty amazing. She covers Leonard Cohen, Bob Dylan, sings in french and even has 3 of her own songs on the end. Her voice is quite indescribeable and is like no one I’ve heard before.

  3. It’s already been ordered. I should go through you, since I’ve been ordering Canadian as of late, and paying the import fees. It kills me, I could fall out my back door and be in Canada. OK, not really, but I’m only 5 minutes away and see The Great White North everyday when I work. Hey misterbooks, why don’t you just drive over you say. With my PAD I don’t do highways, or bridges…..
    Peace,

  4. Got the CD, very beautiful. I should just become Canadian….
    Peace and thank you.

  5. That is one of the highest compliments I have ever received, thank-you. It is one of my all time favorite CD’s, not a single song do I skip over when listening. I am really glad you like it too.


Leave a Reply

Categories

