Posted by: Arkay | June 18, 2008

Minor insight

I am needing to keep reminding myself of those words in the Desiderata:

“If you compare yourself with others,
you may become vain or bitter”

The vain part is no problem, I’ve never been good enough at anything to EVER go there, especially with how much difficulty I have accepting compliments, and how little I like the ‘limelight’.

As for the bitter, I guess it’s a little more like frustration at not being able to do what I visualize/feel creatively, and often the feeling of seemingly being patronized (whether it’s true or not).

Oh well, my problem to deal with.
(Probably a factor of self-worth related to my depression, just one more thing added to the ever growing pile)

Responses

  1. “With all its sham drudgery and broken dreams, it is still a beautiful world. Be careful, and strive to be happy.”

    Or someshit like that. Was my senior quote.

  2. “strive to be happy”. Yeah, shit is right; I’d be just fine with settling for ‘somewhat content’…

  3. “Careful when comparing your insides with other’s outsides” is a loose quote of something often uttered in recovery circles.

  4. Powerful words to live by, thanks for sharing.

  5. Thanks titaniumrose. I love that handle. Thanks for stopping by and commenting. Hope to see you here again sometime.


Leave a Reply

Categories

