Posted by: Arkay | October 24, 2008

New earth viewing site?

I recently saw an article on a new download from NASA that had a pretty good write up (well, at least somewhat intriguing). It sounded something like Google Earth (which I know recently added a sky/stars view option), but supposedly it also allows you to go visit other planets as well.

NASA World Wind

“World Wind lets you zoom from satellite altitude into any place on Earth. Leveraging Landsat satellite imagery and Shuttle Radar Topography Mission data, World Wind lets you experience Earth terrain in visually rich 3D, just as if you were really there.

Virtually visit any place in the world. Look across the Andes, into the Grand Canyon, over the Alps, or along the African Sahara.”

If one of you (and I KNOW how busy you all are – but you have internet connections at home and I don’t) would have the time to play around with this a bit and let me know if it’s worthwhile, I’d sure appreciate it. Thanks.

Responses

  1. Goddamn I love satellites. And not just because I work for the government.


Leave a Reply

Categories

