Posted by: Arkay | April 14, 2009

It was good, but i let it go too far.

Well, i got to do something on Sunday that i haven’t done in a long, long time (years actually), that i had thought i’d never do again. And it was nice, really nice, but i way overdid it. And it was entirely my fault, i shouldn’t have done it for so long; i crossed a line i rarely have before. Clearly my timing was off. I think it had something to do with being comfortable where I was doing it (and with whom), but not being familiar with the particular piece ‘equipment’ i was being allowed access to, i had no idea how hot it would get. Still, having done it before (at least a few times in my life), I was familiar with the basic mechanics (and i do still read about it occasionally, and have seen the odd video on the topic). I guess I just got caught up in the moment, the whole wonderful experience of actually being allowed to do it again, and with such a willing participant, all that naked flesh, hot juices flowing, doing it however I wanted, being trusted to keep things just this side of that moment of perfection without going beyond, risking disaster. Being given complete control over the results, leaving it up to me to decide when to take it out, and (being so out of practice, and having so wanted to be able to do it again), knowing i had to take it out sometime but not wanting to finish too soon, just savouring the whole wonderful experience so much, something was bound to go wrong.

I guess …risking putting something ‘in the oven’ is always chancy at best, but I know now that I so should have pulled my meat out way before i did.

Yup, I way overcooked that turkey. (What were you thinking? ;P)

Responses

  1. /pfft. you food sensualist you. LOL

    The turkey remains very tasty. so there. šŸ™‚

  2. Ya, I know. But it could have been waaaaaaaaay better (I’ve made some that didn’t last even a day as leftovers, except for some few bits held back to make my infamous ‘feel better’ soup.)

    Glad you liked my story though šŸ˜‰

  3. I remember a Victorian thanksgiving turkey many years ago…that’s the day my car got towed from the ferry terminal & I had to pay megabucks to get it back!


Leave a Reply

Categories

